It Is Not Just Another Bridge…

This week Ailsa´s challenge is about Bridges…
I have seen many beautiful bridges in my life…They have been built from Roman times to our contemporary decades..They can be lost in the outskirts of small Spanish villages, or packed with noisy traffic in big modern cities…
But this time I want to pay a tribute…
I want this one to be as well a bridge towards forgotten and suffering people…

I took this pic in 2000, with my manual camera, so I had to scan it…

Aleppo´s Citadel: one of the oldest continuously in habited cities in the World,  its access is granted by this stepped bridge carried by 8 arches.

Aleppo

Aleppo in Sepia

Go here and look for more wonderful bridges…

8 pensamientos en “It Is Not Just Another Bridge…

  1. Lovely tribute indeed. We had planned on including Syria in our Middle East tour, but decided to devote more time to it ‘later’. The troubles started the very next year.

  2. Yes, I think Syria needs quite a lot…I was there for 30 days…It is a beautiful ,beautiful country, full of surprises…Civilians are great, and as I was able to speak a little bit of Arabic we had a wonderful time…We took also 4 days for Beirut Byblos and Baalbeck, in Libanon…It was one of the best experiences we ever had! I have to say the number of tourists was very low…But that made the journey more exciting!

Responder

